The Del Kole Award

Delbert Kole was the last psychiatrist director of the Division of mental health in the State of Washington. He was a consummate community psychiatrist. Dr. Kole was a devoted clinician as a young psychiatrist and as a man facing death with ALS providing services from his wheel chair to individuals with serious mental illness at Western State Hospital. His roots as a clinician guided him in his various roles in Oregon and Washington; clinical supervisor, clinician administrator, and as an individual with policy and Administrative responsibilities in state mental health systems. His devotion to the patients served by community psychiatrists was exemplary.

His fellow community psychiatrists created this award in honor Del Kole as an inspiration to those who follow him in serving individuals with severe psychiatric illness who are most vulnerable to Stigma, Poverty and a host of other Social Factors that make their recovery difficult. Del Kole knew that those with severe mental illness can recover, even when they can't be cured, and that with compassionate treatment and services. Their human potential can be set free in that recovery process.

Awardees of the WSPA Public Psychiatry or Government Relations Committee:

2010	Richard Winslow	Harborview
2009	Barry Grosskopf	Navos
2008	Matt Layton	Spokane Mental Health
2007	Jim Hopfenbeck	Downtown Emergency Svs Ctr
2006	Tim Keller	Western State board
2005	Dean Brooks	Western State board
2004	Richard Ries	UW Dual Dx work
2003	Christos Dagadakis	Harborview
2002	Bruce Gage	Westerns MIO program
2001	Sharon Farmer	King Co. RSN adult
2000	Marc Avery	VCCC work on state forulary

Awardees of the Washington State Association of Community Psychiatry

1999	Charles Huffine	KC RSN C&A programs
1998	Andrew Borland	PALS program, Western State
1997	Mark Backlund	Med Dir Skagit Co
1996	James Boudin (deceased)	Med Dir Tacoma Comp
1995	Muriel King Taylor	Role with MH Division in 70's
1994	Ben Kuhner	Med Dir Kitsap
1993	Carrold Iverson (deceased)	Pioneer Med Dir CPC Seattle
1992	Steven Risse (deceased)	Seattle VA, etc. (posthumous)
1991	Robert Houk	Pioneer Med Dir SMH
1990	Bill Sherman (deceased)	Pioneer Med Dir Spokane